Ogun Guber: Billionaire Dapo Abiodun Floors Amosun, Gets Ticket

The Muhammad Ndabawa-led electoral committee sent to Ogun State by the National Working Committee(NWC) of the All Progressives Congress(APC) has declared Prince Dapo Abiodun winner of the Direct governorship primary of Ogun APC for the 2019 gubernatorial election.
The party had earlier declared Abdukabir Adekunle Akinlade winner and gubernatorial candidate of the party for the 2019 election.
Declaring the result of the governorship primary election conducted throughout the 236 wards across the 20 Local Governments Area of Ogun State, the Chairman of the Committee, Muhammad Ndabawa, said Prince Abiodun polled 102, 305 votes to emerge winner.
Ndabawa added that other contestants – Jimi Lawal scored 51, 153 votes while Abimbola Ashiru polled 29, 764 votes.
Other contestants, Senator Gbenga Kaka got 17,771 votes and Abayomi Hunye 9,110 votes while Adekunle Akinlade scored 23, 443 votes.
The electoral chairman for the state however noted that the declaration of Prince Dapo Abiodun as winner of the primary and governorship candidate of APC in Ogun state for 2019 governorship election, is “subject to ratification by the National Working Committee” of the party.

Fielding questions from reporters regarding the primary earlier conducted by Committees set up by the Ogun state APC and subsequent declaration of Abdukabir Adekunle Akinlade winner and gubernatorial candidate by the state Chairman, Chief Derin Adebiyi, Ndabawa said he was not aware of such primary.
He added that the Committee he led, is the authentic body constituted by the NWC to conduct and supervise governorship primary in the state in line with the party guidelines and constitution.
The announcement of Abiodun, an oil magnate and real estate operator from Iperu town in Ogun East Senatorial district of the state, came barely six hours after Akinlade was also declared winner in a primary conducted on Tuesday, allegedly, without the Committee from Abuja playing a part in it.